Hot apple cider (& waterskiing)

20 Dec

Image

One of my favorite drinks for when it gets cold out is hot apple cider. This is not a common recipe in Holland. The first time I drank hot apple cider was when my friend Emily took me to her parents apple archard in Lake City that lays next to Lake Pepin, Minnesota, to pick apples back in 2003. As an exchange student at Minneapolis College of Art and Design, I was new to the area and traditions. It was fall and I was in awe of the beauty of the trees around there. The tradition of the family was to go out and pick apples, where they drank homemade hot apple cider to stay warm. Ever since I make this every fall and winter! Today I introduced it to my dear friend Kim!

It is easy: 4-5 cups apple juice, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, cinnamon sticks and apple slices to garnish!

Oh, if you think Lake Pepin…? Lake Pepin is a wide portion of the Mississippi River between Minnesota and Wisconsin. This is where waterskiing was invented in 1922 by Ralph Samuelson! This I never forgot!

Leave a Reply

